The federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 allocated $300 million to fund state run rebate programs for residents in all U.S. states, territories, and the District of Columbia to replace existing appliances with new energy efficient models.

In order to receive funds, each state submitted a plan detailing which products would be covered, the amount of each rebate, and how consumers could apply for the rebate. The amount of funds awarded to each state or territory was based on population. Rebates must be distributed by February 2012. Individual programs will remain open as long as funds for appliance rebates are available.

Each state has its own set of rules concerning the amount of the rebate depending on the type of appliance. Rebates generally range from $50 to $500 per appliance and only apply if you are replacing an existing appliance.

A list of links to the appliance rebate programs for each state, district, and territory can be found on the U.S. Department of Energy website.

Appliances eligible for the rebate include Energy Star rated models of:

  • Air conditioners (room and central)
  • Boilers
  • Clothes washers
  • Dishwashers
  • Freezers
  • Furnaces (oil and gas)
  • Heat pumps (air source and geothermal)
  • Refrigerators
  • Water heaters

Further Information

Editorial Contributors
Danny Lipford

Danny Lipford


Danny Lipford is a home improvement expert and television personality who started his remodeling business, Lipford Construction, at the age of 21 in Mobile, Alabama. He gained national recognition as the host of the nationally syndicated television show, Today's Homeowner with Danny Lipford, which started as a small cable show in Mobile. Danny's expertise in home improvement has also led him to be a contributor to popular magazines and websites and the go-to source for advice on everything related to the home. He has made over 200 national television appearances and served as the home improvement expert for CBS's The Early Show and The Weather Channel for over a decade. Danny is also the founder of 3 Echoes Content Studio,, and Checking In With Chelsea, a décor and lifestyle blog.

Learn More